At least I’m not as creepy as a sex shop owner.

4622dc50626a3f8f83974a24de501166

So it’s been a few weeks since I posted last, and I wanted to make sure I’m sticking to my original pledge to jot down as much as I could throughout the semester. I don’t want to forget things and I want to make sure I have the experience written down.

I got the idea in my head that I needed to update on here this morning while I was watching the news. Apparently, there was a article written out there about the “Creepiest Jobs”. According to the news, they asked a bunch of people to vote for what they thought was the creepiest job out there.

  • #5 – taxi drivers (which I thought was weird)
  • #4 – funeral directors (thanks guys)
  • #3 – sex shop owner (well then…)
  • #2 – taxidermist (I personally like taxidermy, but I’m also on this list so…)
  • #1 – clowns (I suddenly and wholeheartedly agree with this poll)

I just thought it was pretty hilarious that so many people out there think that this profession is so creepy, but when they have a loved one that dies, they confide in us and turn to us as professionals and experts. I’ll let you all keep thinking I’m such a weirdo, because I think I’m awesome and I’m gonna be a kick ass funeral director and embalmer.

This dawned on me the other day, while we were eating ice cream I said to Henry,

“you know what’s funny? This time last year I wasn’t even in the program, and now I’m halfway through it.”

He told me, “and this time, a year from now, you’ll be so done with it, and this stress of ‘tomorrow’s a test and I need to study!’ will all be forgotten.”

That gave me such a different outlook on what I’m in the middle of right now. All of this stress that school is bringing me, won’t mean a thing in less than a year. I’m already halfway done with this program, come December, I’ll be a full fledged licensed funeral director and recent graduate! That kind of blows my mind.

This program is getting us ready for the stress and multitasking attitude we’re going to need in the business, but I have a feeling (and from what others who’ve done it say) that the stress of school will be nothing like the industry. I could be wrong, and that’s why there’s such a high drop out rate in the industry, but we shall see!

Another crazy thing happened: the last 2 Monday’s have been DECENT! I know, weird right? Law was an exam and then she actually attempted to teach us. This Monday was 2 exams with a “Jeopardy” type game thrown in between them. So far I’m doing OK in all my classes too! I think I’m getting straight B’s for once.

I told the mentor group a couple weeks ago that, for whatever reason, this semester has been easier and less stress than last semester when I had half as many classes. Another kid who was about to graduate last semester told me that this semester finally makes sense and gets easier, but I didn’t believe her. I’m taking 6 classes, twice as many as my stress inducing first semester, and yet, I actually feel like I have free time and a life this semester.

Thursday’s are still my favorite days. Embalming lab is so much fun. I hate to use the word fun, but I get such a thrill working with my team and raising vessels and mixing chemicals and injecting a body. It’s a “consensual mutilation” as my teacher has pointed out, so it does feel weird to have fun with it, but I can’t help it! It’s fascinating to learn and perfect. We have competencies coming up in a couple weeks, and I’m hoping I can knock it out of the park.

I’ve learned that I’m really good at RA too. We were making mouths last week, and my piece was used as a teaching tool for a couple other students. I can’t say it’s easy, because it’s really not, but it is a whole lot of fun! I really should go study for a couple tests that I have tomorrow and Wednesday, but I think I’m gonna relax a bit more. I still feel like all this coasting is going to bite me in the ass sooner than later (FINALS ANYONE?), but I’m going to enjoy it while I’ve got it.

Leave a Reply

