So close, yet so far.

b63

So it’s been 2 weeks since I posted about my very terrible struggle in lab. Luckily, since then I have recovered and done very well. It was a fluke! Since then, we’ve also started our competencies, which consist of the team going from start to finish with very little instructor interference (basically, unless we’re fucking up royally, they’re leaving us to it).

I’m sort of fortunate to be on the right and left legs for both weeks of competencies. I got it out of the way last week with the first go around and I found all of the necessary arteries, but I think tomorrow morning I’ll do even better since I know exactly what I need to do. Not that I didn’t know before, but I wasn’t nervous last week when we went in there and I did ok. This week I’m ready to get in there and finish with flying colors!

My team is awesome. Thursday’s have become my favorite days, and I’m actually a little sad that the semester’s coming to and end and I won’t be embalming for a couple of months. The chemistry works between all of us, and we’re all excited to be on each other’s team. We got split up one week when there was one less body (usually there’s 3) for the 15 of us to work on, and it was completely different to work with another team. I think tomorrow is technically the last day we’re working in lab, and we’re going out for celebratory drinks after school!

With this week ending, there’s only 2 weeks left. In these next 2 weeks, I have 10 exams. TEN! There’s review and glossary exams and section wrap ups and then its FINALS FINALS FINALS!

It’s so weird that I’m more than halfway through this program. It’s also a complete relief, but I wouldn’t wish this program on anyone who isn’t ready. It’s the most intense schooling and I didn’t realize this is what it was going to be until I got into the thick of it. I didn’t assume it was going to be easy, but I just felt like it wasn’t going to be THIS hard. The expectations are extremely high. Probably because they have a reputation to uphold, but it’s definitely not for the casual learner.

Most of the kids in this program have their bachelor’s in science’s and have taken multiple classes on the subject and they’re still struggling. I took a bunch of art classes and general education, and I’m a bright crayon in the box, but this is intense.

My summer semester is consisting of 9 units and the kid at the financial aid office seemed scared for me. He ended up saying, “you know what you’re doing…”. Yes. You are correct sir. I DO know what I’m doing. I’m handling my shit and getting this done in the 18 months it takes to complete the program.

I don’t want to be in it any longer than I have to. I have plans. I want to get out into the field. I want to get onto apprenticing and getting my embalmer’s license. I want to move the FUCK out of my house and finally have some damn space. There’s a lot I want to do, but I need to take this day by day and get it done. So far so good, just gotta keep on truckin.

 

Leave a Reply

