Pick my brain, I don’t mind

I’ve never felt more powerful and knowledgeable than I did today! I attended the new student orientation for incoming mortuary science kids, and they had all of the questions for me (us). There was a group of about 11 or 12 of us who came to be “mentors” for the new bunch, and we got to stand up and give our “pearls of wisdom” to them. It was sort of weird to be up there though, since only 1 year ago (almost to the day) I was sitting in their spot and nervous as hell about this program.

Today, I stood in front of 30(ish) new kids and told them, “I was sitting here a year ago, and now I’m a licensed funeral director going into my 3rd semester”, and it felt great. We went to lunch and got to just sit and chat with a bunch of kids, and they asked me all kinds of questions. I also tried to tell them everything and anything I could think of that they might need to know, and I may or may not have overwhelmed them even more.

I tried to keep reminding them that I’m not trying to make it worse, but I want to make sure they’re not blindsided by anything. I felt like I wasn’t informed enough about money and spending and whatever else happens outside of just registering and buying books. I felt like it was my duty to help them realize just how much and when they’ll be droppin shit tons of cash. They seemed relieved to have someone give them a heads up, and that’s all I wanted for them.

Tomorrow is another day of it, and we’re taking them on a “walking tour” of the campus and bookstore and food places around the area. I hope I get some other kids tomorrow so I can make sure I spread the word enough. It seemed like my classmates were giving them good information too, so hopefully these kids stay up on their shit and feel more prepared for this semester. I really hope they feel inclined to use my “expertise” throughout the semester too; I love being a resource for people.

We’ll see what tomorrow brings.

2 thoughts on “Pick my brain, I don’t mind

  1. I know what you mean, my three month probation period is almost up and today we had two new starters.

    Its nice not to be the new person anymore and even nicer to be able to teach them stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

