We’re in the home stretch now!

d40c7988d05bacb3a0e02c3909a1592b8a498dbea2f6ecca9addfd0b5f0f3572

I didn’t mean to keep putting off getting on here and writing about things, but I hit the busiest time of the semester and any free time went to sleeping and sanity. I have a couple papers due this week and a presentation next Monday, and that’s about all of the biggest stuff left besides finals! In just a week and a half, it’ll be Thanksgiving, and then, FINALS. I can’t believe this is it, it’s really ending. I never thought 18 months would feel so long!

Work is also ramping up (since the winter months is the “busy season” in this industry), and I’ve been working late nights and early mornings. I should know by now that this job was gonna come with funky hours, but I’m still getting used to it. Once this semester’s over, I’m debating whether or not I want to continue working where I’m at, or to go somewhere else. I think it might be in my best interest to go somewhere else now-ish since it is the busy season, and more places might be willing to hire. It also might be in my best interest to stay where I’m at and get the most experience I can, before trying to get my foot in the door somewhere else.

I will say (and I think I’ve said this before), that Saturday’s at work are my favorite days. I get to experience the most stuff and I’m usually out of the office the whole day. This last Saturday, I got to witness my first (Japanese) Buddhist memorial service full of chanting and incense, a Christian memorial service full of songs and hymns, my first Hindu dressing with the daughter and her 2 friends, and a witness interment (that finally went smoothly). I love the variety Saturday brings! I also say “finally went smoothly” because the last 2 witness interments I was apart of took way too long and we somehow ran of dirt and had to get the tractor to bring more *face palm*.

Tonight should be a slow night, Tuesday’s usually don’t have a lot going for them. Unless there was a viewing/visitation/rosary going on at night, I’m usually out of there quick. It’s really nice to be there by myself too, so I don’t have to keep checking on someone or making sure they did something. I do everything, and I get it done quick, and get the hell out of there!

I feel like these last couple of posts have been forced, or at least something I’m not going to care to read later on, so I want to try and recap maybe some small things from the passed week that I might not think of in the coming weeks/months/years.

Last Thursday, I went to my first “vendor night” dinner for the Orange County Funeral Directors Association (OCFDA). It was pretty cool, but smaller than I thought it was going to be. For whatever reason, the way people talked about it, it sounded like a huge event, but there was maybe 20 tables. It was mostly a drinking and talking to people I already knew. Plus, I couldn’t eat the dinner (GLUTEN FREE STRIKES AGAIN!), so that was a bit of a downer.

BUT what was nice was that I happened to sit at a table (or they happened to sit at MY table, whatever) with an owner and his partner who have a mortuary that he tries to hire students as much as possible. The only problem was that it’s in Torrance (which is NOT close), and they’re in the middle of moving, so it’s not a viable option for me right now.

I ended up getting tipsy and chatting with my teacher who was there promoting the school, and it was nice to freely talk about work and school just one on one with him. I sometimes feel I can’t express everything I’m feeling, mainly because of how candid (see: colorful language) I am with talking about work (he works there too). It felt nice be able to be around like minded people (my teacher and that owner) who are on the same wavelength as I am. I’m not in this for the business or money, I’m in it to move this industry out of the dark ages and focus on families and their healing through dealing with death.

We lost a member of our embalming lab team, so it’s down to just my one friend and I! While I miss our teammate, I kind of like the freedom we now get to have to do more and more things each week. I actually feel tired, like I DID something, each Thursday now. Competencies start this week, meaning it’s the start of making sure I actually know what I’m doing before I graduate. I think I have everything down pretty well, except for the selecting of fluids. There are so many varieties out there, and I’m just confused on what to do half the time. Hopefully the case we get next week isn’t too crazy when I have to pick fluids. Last week, my teammate and I were told that our aspiration and cavity treatment competencies were pretty much done, so if that’s already noted, I’m probably good on everything else.

I’m excited for Thanksgiving, it’ll be the first time I’ve hung out with my extended family in a long while (I think since July!? Yikes). Food’s going to be delicious, people are gonna be fun, I don’t have to work that night, it’s gonna be nice to have that small break. Once that break’s over though, it’s basically the end of the semester, so I doubt I’ll be posting before then!

…I’ll be a graduate the next time I post…holy shit.

Leave a Reply

