Don’t forget the tax!

It’s been a whirlwind of a month since I last posted on here. We’re basically settled into our apartment, only a couple of boxes still remain, and that’s mostly because they’re gonna be storage things anyway. We’ve spent more money than I want to mention at IKEA and Target and other places, but it’s finally feeling like home.

My boss went on his week long vacation last week, and this morning was the first time I’ve talked to him since then. It was kind of a slow week, nothing crazy happened, but I felt uncomfortable being the only one here to do arrangements and things. I wasn’t completely alone, I did have the ladies in the office with me during the week, so they could help me when I had questions, but I still felt like a fish out of water.

I had my first solo arrangement with a family who were super nice, but I felt like an idiot the whole time. When I was about to leave the room for the 3rd time with a question, I admitted, “this is the first time I’m doing this by myself if you can’t tell”, and they let out a giggle. Made me feel a little better that they found the humor in it and not annoyance. And even if they were annoyed, they didn’t show it. I ended up having to do an itemized contract instead of a package, which is a little harder since I was going to have to remember all of the little things they were going to need. I ended up forgetting to charge them tax *face palm*.

They were really sweet though, and I ran their service by myself. It was nice to be the one to do everything because I knew who to go to and they knew who I was, so there was a little bit of a relief there.

I’m starting to get in the groove of funeral directing. My arranging and embalming needs to get better, but that comes with experience. Still lovin my job though!

 

Leave a Reply

